Embracing Randomness

Last week I started teaching again at the Institute in East Finchley, London.  I thought it would be good for them to practice piecing some squares together so I have a review of my Craftsy class by Elizabeth Hartman, Inspired Modern Quilts and picked out her Scattered Squares.

I went through my stash and found this great Skull print Victoria got me for Christmas and sorted out 3 other prints to work with it  Then I chopped up some leftover Slate Green from Free Spirit and we were off.

An interesting start!

An interesting start!

I cut up my 3.5″ squares and threw them into a box then started grabbing randomly.  I adjusted the layout and pulled them off the wall in order.  Once I had all 10 rows of 8 stitched together I starting pinning each row together staring at the center.

The top is ready to be quilted. I just need the time and will probably use it as a demo in class as we go through the next few weeks.

Up on the wall.

Up on the wall.

Leave a Reply

