Paris in Paper!

Pop-Paris

I think if you click the image it will animate. Who knows it was my first attempt.

So I have been working on a Pop-Up for a Madeline 75th Anniversary book for Penguin for the last 2 years. It started as a 6 spread big glamorous book and then was cut down to one spread for budget reasons.

After several different versions this is what I am handing in today.

Paris scene for my Madeline Anniversary book for Penguin.

Paris scene for my Madeline Anniversary book for Penguin.

Eiffel Tower in the center with the Arc de Triumph on the left (yes I know it should be on the right but I only have so much room to work in)

Eiffel Tower in the center with the Arc de Triumph on the left (yes I know it should be on the right but I only have so much room to work in)

The orphanage int eh front with Notre Dame in the background.

The orphanage int eh front with Notre Dame in the background.

So I tried different ways of making a nice tall Effiel Tower. Version 1 worked well but once you cut away the famous arch in the base it didn’t have enough pull to keep it open. On to the next.

Effiel Tower mock up version 1

Effiel Tower mock up version 1

Version 2 also looked good but from the side it had a zig zag feeling. On to the third.

Effiel Tower mock up version 2

Effiel Tower mock up version 2

If you ever wondered what a pop looks like before it is assembled. Have a look at my desk. Sadly, it looks like this more often than not.

Any Guesses?

Any Guesses?

Option 3 with the help of Apple Maps. I wanted to find the perfect angle to get the pop to work correctly so Victoria suggested (and yes I am crediting you) to use the map on the pad to get a image.  With the satellite option from Apple maps on the Ipad I managed to get this…

Eiffel

IMG_0211

from our weekend in Paris a few months back.

from our weekend in Paris a few months back.

DSC_0222

I also need a bit of direction with Notre Dame so back to Apple Maps I went.

Notre Dame

Fingers crossed they like it as much as I do.  If not the people in Paris will be hearing me scream from London.

Leave a Reply

