It All Started with a Big Bang!

The other day I was flipping through Pinterest.  Now I do have my own account but Victoria always has a monopoly  on the Ipad and I am just too lazy to sign her out and sign myself in so I tend to pin things to a folder called “Stuff for Michael” on her boards. I should also preface this by saying I was looking for Paper Piecing patterns online for a Video Demo I have been asked to do for Coats.  Anyway, one link from google was on Pinterest.  I have never thought about looking on Pinterest for patterns.  I did some browsing through 100’s of patterns.  Most of which were not my taste and then I saw it. I have been addicted to “The Big Bang Theory” since it first aired.  Up until our move to London a few years ago Victoria hated anything I watched and I mean HATED. I convinced her to give it a try and now we both sit with the TV on at 6:30, eating dinner with “The Big Bang Theory” playing on E4.  It is our daily ritual.

So there it was.  Elizabeth Mosher created the opening symbol as a paper pieced pattern. I don’t know you Elizabeth Mosher, but I like you. “Atom” is a pretty elaborate paper pieced pattern. At first I thought about making it as a gift for a friend who via Facebook send random quotes from new episodes back and forth to.  So out from the printer came 16 different templates to stitch through.

The fairy complex pattern for "Atom"

The fairly complex pattern for “Atom”

I had a bit of this White on White print with numbers and thought this would be the perfect backdrop for the pattern. First was piece “A”.  Red hex center.  Then some whites followed by 1/8″ blacks then some more white. Around and around you go until you have piece “A” finished.

Just like color by numbers.  Only you are using fabric to fill in the spaces.

Just like color by numbers. Only you are using fabric to fill in the spaces.

There is a bit of trial and error but this was not my first paper piecing rodeo. Onto piece “B” and so on.

IMG_0243

IMG_0238

This morning I finished all 16 different sections and I am about to get ready and put them all together.

IMG_0241

There will be an edit to this post once my very own “Atom” is complete.

Can't wait to finish it off.

Can’t wait to finish it off.

3 thoughts on “It All Started with a Big Bang!

Leave a Reply

