Let’s Quilt Now!!!!!

This past year I had the pleasure of seeing my friend Katy Jones at the Festival of Quilts and a brief chat about me doing work for her new magazine, Quilt Now!, turned into this really cool Triangle quilt.

20141030_092021

Since I have never done work for a magazine before I was excited and nervous about giving them what they wanted. Katy sent me a few of her Pinterest boards with the colors she was looking for. After a visit to the Wharf with Haydn I noticed an image on the elevator with random triangles. When I got home I created a digital layout and we were off.

20141030_092051

Step two was selecting fabrics for the quilt. I emailed Annie at The Village Haberdashery and she said to come on by and pick out what I needed. I wanted a bright and fun quilt so I went with some interesting choices.

20140927_101533 20140927_101419 20140927_101504

Using my layout sketch I trimmed my triangles out and placed them up on my design wall. After a few tweeks here and there we were ready to go. You’ll have to get the magazine for the instructions!!

20141030_092825

 

I wanted to add a bit of something to the back so I made a large triangle using the scraps I had and some contrasting orange and black to set it off.  With the remaining larger pieces I stripped them down to 2.5″ and bound the quilt in them.

20141030_092249

So now I am working on a few more.  One for the March issue and one for April.

\m/

2 thoughts on “Let’s Quilt Now!!!!!

Leave a Reply

