Rain or Shine?

I was asked by David at Dashwood Studios to come up with a quilt to use at shows that would display their new Rain or Shine? range.

DSC_0220

A few days later a package arrived at the house with some strike off prints.  I immediately starting to like about what I could do with the very brightly colored prints. Then it hit me, Giant raindrops and an even BIGGER Umbrella!

Raindrops_Dashwood jpeg

My original sketch just had a solid background and while I didn’t want it to take away from the prints I knew it needed something. I found some Kona grey solids and a few sky blues and got to cutting.

Raindrops_Dashwood_new jpeg

So I decided to cut some squares and then sew them together.  Then I cut some more and added them to the mix.  After a while I ended up with over 100 little trimmed blocks that needed to be arranged.

20150124_105923

20150125_000900

I found some space on the living room floor and started to lay them out.  Shuffling them around so the tones were different. 

20150125_000104


Next was the blue!

20150125_215328

I made my Raindrops and Umbrella pieces using some interfacing and then carefully appliquéd them in place.

20150128_100931

 

The finished Quilt all ready to be sent to David.DSC_0215 DSC_0228 DSC_0226 DSC_0219

 

Leave a Reply

