{ }

I have been busy working on my Cico Books project as of late but before I was smashed, I finished up a few more quilts for Quilt Now! Here is one!

On one of my strolls through Pinterest I found this cool little postcard that used a bracket as a graphic pattern. I’m a designer or was not to long ago so I came up with this idea and pattern.

While creating curved blocks is not a favorite pastime I knew to make this work as I wanted it had to be number 1 on my list. The thing with piecing 1/4 curves is that you generally have to pin the heck out of them and inevitably end up sticking yourself all afternoon. Then I remembered I have the curved piecing foot I bought from the Festival of Quilts a few years back. After reaching through the studio for the unopened set, snapped it onto my Janome Horizon and I got to work.  First by making the template….

DSC_0173

Then by tracing and cutting the endless sections.  Remember each block has two parts.  There are something like 180 little 2 1/2″ blocks.  Oh Joy!!!

DSC_0175

And once we had all the pieces in the correct color and direction we were off with a vengeance! I started by adjusting my foot so we had the proper 1/4″ seam allowance and the positioned both curves in place like below.
(note: I added extra fabric to the outer curve just to make sure we could trim them down so they all matched)

DSC_0081

Carefully and slowly I made way through the curves.

DSC_0082

Once you get close to the end it is best to use a pair of tweezers to hold both ends aligning as you go.

DSC_0083

Press the curved section flat and you will be ready to trim to your final size.

DSC_0086

Line up the 1/4″ marks on both seams and trim two sides square.

DSC_0087

DSC_0089

Rotate the block and trim to the final 2 1/2″ size.

DSC_0090

DSC_0093

Ready to be added to the rows and finish the quilt.

Victoria likes this quilt so it will make it to our bed. Looks good in either direction!

DSC_0004

DSC_0008

DSC_0011

For the complete pattern and directions please find yourself a copy of issue 11 from Quilt Now!

qn11-cover-uk

