Is there a builder in the house?

So we finally moved into our house back in April and it’s only taken the last 6 months to get it to a spot where it feels like home. During the last few months I’ve been making things. Moving from NYC to London 6 years ago and from London to North Carolina last year left us with a hodge lodge of furniture. Victoria and I have been making lists of things we wanted in our house since we first decided to move back to the states. 
  
We opted to build our house from scratch because we wanted things a certain way. It started with our tree filled plot surrounded on 2 sides by a tree preserve. ( perfect for me as I didn’t want to s of neighbors surrounding me )

  
So the planning began. First on the list was our concrete fire place with a reclaimed wood mantel. All things the “custom” builder didn’t want to do. So I did it myself. 

   
 
I made my forms and got down to business mixing my concrete. I think they turned out pretty well. 

  
Once we moved in, I wanted to tackle the reclaimed wood wall up in our bonus room. I found the wood from the same place I found the mantel. The Reuse Warehouse up in Durham. 

   
   
At this point the folding table wasn’t cutting it with Victoria anymore so the next on the list was our breakfast nook table. With the help of a ever growing folder in my Pinterest folder I found a table that we both liked. The awesome sisters at Shanty-2-Chic supplied the plans and I modified to suit my space. 

   
    
 
Next was a few corner shelves. Also made from walnut found at Reuse. 

  
Then my office work desk. 

   
 
Then Victoria wanted new outdoor chairs. 

  
Next was a new dining table for our neighbor Julia. 

   
   
Then our friend Lindsay asked about some Chevron Shutters for inside their bonus room. So I started dismantling the dozen or so pallets I had collected.  

   
 
As you can see I am enjoying having a garage to work in. Can’t wait to keep making more things for our house. 

