My April fools post. “Hoo” could it be?

TallinnFabrics-blog-tour-graphicSO… Some of you may know about my little Art Gallery Fabric addiction. I was talking with the owner of a Shop in Raleigh the other day and was showing them one of my recent projects and she was asking what and who the fabrics were and I simply said “Art Gallery”!  I use AGF 99.3% of the time. (I know this because I have done the math)

When Jessica Swift posted about her new range, Lugu, I had already seen it and was quick to message her about being a part of this new Blog Hop!. One, because I really liked the look of the prints and two, I had an idea already brewing that would work perfectly. We had a brief chat and I asked for something that I don’t think many designers would send. I needed the file she used to print one specific fabric.  She agreed and I was off.

IMG_0081.jpeg

A few days later a little box with some very lovely fabrics arrived and I began to organize and prep my newly designed pattern.  I will need to name it at some point so if you have any ideas please feel free to pass them along in the comments.

With my print out in hand, I began by cutting and trimming my units using my homemade multi layer yardstick as I do with all my templates. I always make a digital mock up of the quilt so I can see what it looks like before we even make a single cut. I counted all of my pieces and made all the cuts for easy piecing.

Assembly went together with ease.  One row after another I lined up the mitered pieces and placed them on my wall as to not get them mixed up.

IMG_0085

Once the top was finished I got to work on my special part of the project.  I like the quilt as its own thing but I think this little addition makes it!

I used the files Jess sent me and deleted the items I didn’t need. With a little redrawing, I sent the outlines to my Sizzix Eclips2 for a cut out of each and every piece of the amazing Owl. Once the shapes were trimmed out I added some double sided interfacing from The Warm Company (Steam-A-Seam Lite) and fused them to the new AGF Pure Solids which are so nice to work with.

A little trimming and pressing and then a whole lot of satin stitching and my project was complete.

Now what to do for quilting? Besides using AGF on most projects, the other thing you may know about me is I do like to do some walking foot quilting. I wanted the help the illusion of the moonlight glowing so I used a circular template (Victoria’s Plexus Wheel) and then walked my way across the entire top.

IMG_0095

Once the quilting was done it was on to the binding.  I took a bit of the scraps and added some of the white to set off the dark blue green background prints and then I was done.

IMG_0088

I really enjoyed working on this project and I hope you like it too!.  Feel free to ask me anything or let me know if this is something you’d like to see as a pattern in the near future.

Thank You Jessica for allowing me to be a part of this awesome new line.  Here’s to many more!.

\m/

IMG_0091IMG_0092IMG_0093IMG_0094IMG_0096IMG_0097IMG_0099

Here’s the full tour schedule:

Monday March 25 – Jessica Swift

Tuesday March 26 – Priscilla Geissler

Wednesday March 27 – Felicity Greiner

Thursday March 28 – Isabelle Selak | South Bay Bella Studio

Friday March 29 – Katie Skoog | The Simple Life Company

Monday April 1 – Michael Caputo | Patchwork and Paper

Tuesday April 2 – Loni Jakubowski | Havin Sew Much Fun

Wednesday April 3 – Amista Baker | Hilltop Custom Designs

Thursday April 4 – Gwyn LaSpina | Clever Colleen

Friday April 5 – Becca Plymale | Sunflower Seams

Monday April 8 – Brianne Baxa | BriCrafty

Tuesday April 9 – Louise Waterfall | Textile Trolley

Wednesday April 10 – Neressa Bennett

Thursday April 11 – Amista Baker | Hilltop Custom Designs

Friday April 12 – Alexis Wright | My Sweet Sunshine Studio

Monday April 15 – Sarai Schuk | Sarai’s Hobbies

Tuesday April 16 – Cassie Massolia | Lily Shine Creates

Wednesday April 17 – Alex Sorensen | My Sew Bliss

Thursday April 18 – Jennifer MacWilliams | This Girl Is Sew Destructive

Friday April 19 – Betsy Harrahy | Little Pink Pamplemousse

Monday April 22 – Rebecca Ringquist | Dropcloth Samplers

Tuesday April 23 – Chantal Morin | CG Monsters

Wednesday April 24 – Danielle Gobel | Little Pink Peony

Thursday April 25 – Eve Gaddis