Let’s go for a ride!

IMG_0663

Meet Caleb and Dylan.  My two bamboo bikes made by a company in the states.  I assembled both bikes by myself and love riding them around London.  Caleb and I participated in the London Night Ride together this past year. Dylan is my fixie and has been relaxing on the wall for a bit.IMG_0136Some people might call me a bit bike obsessed.  That might be true but I thought it would be fun to combine my bike with a quilt.  I found a really cool image online not too long ago and my next magazine project was born.

Starting with an illustrator rendering of the chain, I began to deconstruct it into more manageable sections. Playing with the layout to see what looked best.

The result can be found in this months issue of Quilt Now! (issue 9).

image-8It was a fun thing to do.  I enjoy creating my own templates and this one had a few interesting shapes to contend with.  Most people can deal with the Drunkards curves but the other two take a bit of planning.

Once I drew out my shapes I then printed them and added my seam allowance. Scanned them back in and redrew them to the correct size and shape.

On a visit to CT last year, Denyse Schmidt gave me some bundles of her Florence collection so as this quilt was to be mine I thought I would use my own stash to create it. I pulled a few colors that I liked and placed them in the order that appealed to me.

DSC_0132

Then the pressing and cutting began.

DSC_0137 DSC_0138 DSC_0139

 

Once all the pieces were in front of me on the table I pieced the easy parts first. I have a curved piecing foot so that is what I used but it can be done the pinning method as well.

DSC_0142With a bit of trial and error I added the outer curves to complete the links.

DSC_0147 DSC_0148 DSC_0149 DSC_0150 DSC_0151That wasn’t so hard so I moved on to the background piece to complete the section.

DSC_0153 DSC_0154As they say, Wash, Rinse and Repeat!.

When the top was finished I pressed out my back and taped it all to the floor when the baby was napping.  With my safety pins in hand I got to pinning.

image-2 image-6 image-7Not sure what to do for the quilting I decided to echo the shape the chain links made.  Unlike a spiral where it is continuous, this has rings that are evenly spaced.

It was a really fun thing to figure out and quilt. image-9

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Let’s go for a ride!

Leave a Reply

